RSS

White Choc Chip Cranberry Shortbread

20 Apr

I’ve had a package of white chocolate chips sitting in the baking cupboard for about two weeks, and I’ve been trying to think of something to do with them. So, yesterday, when I nipped into the shop to buy some more self-raising flour and I saw one lonely package of cranberries sat on the shelf, it seemed like a sign. A sign from the baking gods. I snagged the packet before anyone else had a chance to finagle their way to it, and headed for the checkout. Then I went home and in the middle of some very unseasonable heat, I switched the oven on. The things we do for the love of baking.

Ingredients:
4oz self-raising flour
1 ½oz caster sugar
2 ½oz butter
50g (approx.) white choc chips
40g (approx.) dried cranberries

The amounts are approximate for the choc chips and cranberries because I just tipped about half of each of the packets into the mixture when I made these. It was a case of “that looks a bit too little, and still too little, aha! That looks good!” so it’s really up to you and how chocolate-y and cranberry-y you want your shortbread.

Method:
Pre-heat your oven to 180˚c.
Mix the flour and sugar together.
Rub in the butter until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
Add the cranberries and choc chips.
Press together gently, using the palm of your hand, and form a ball.
Roll out into a rectangle – about 20cm x 15cm x 0.5cm. NOTE: I didn’t (and never) do this step. I just put some baking parchment on the bottom of the tin I want to use, put the dough in the middle and squidge it out so it fills the tin.
Prick with a fork. This is your chance to get fancy!
Bake for 15-20 minutes. Because of the extra ingredients these will take a few more minutes than the Vanilla Tea Shortbread.
When removed from the oven, place on a cooling rack and cut into pieces whilst still hot.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “White Choc Chip Cranberry Shortbread

  1. Bryony

    April 20, 2011 at 15:57 pm

    These look truly scrumptious!

     
    • stressbaker

      April 21, 2011 at 15:57 am

      They are also staggeringly easy to make!

      Oh, wait. I probably shouldn’t admit that. They’re really hard! Be afeared!

       
  2. mixosaurus

    June 20, 2011 at 15:57 am

    The white chocolate chips and dried cranberries are in my cupboard as I type. Oh Hannah, what have you done to my productivity 😛

     
  3. Catherine Winner

    August 28, 2011 at 15:57 am

    I’m going to make these tomorrow!! Thanks for sharing this recipe I can’t wait to try it! Also can you add any lemon into or no? Thoughts on that?

     
    • stressbaker

      September 27, 2012 at 15:57 pm

      I am so sorry for the late reply! I swear wordpress has only just shown me this comment. I hope that they went well. Umm, I see no reason you couldn’t add lemon in, but I’m not sure I would. The cranberry’s are deliciously tart in themselves against the chocolate, and I think more acidity could be a little overwhelming. But, if you added lemon in and it was good, let me know and I’ll give it a try!

       

Leave a Reply

 
